Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.

A Tello Library

Hey @Krag, first off I'd like to thank you for this library. I bought my tello so I could program some autopilots in Unity, and that would have been impossible without your hard work on this project.

Could you possibly help me understand the FlyData.height value. You can see in the video I set the white plane to the height every tello update, but is seems to just give me random values. Is there a more accurate height value somewhere in the log? Thanks.

I could not find any license in the library. Without license you don't claim any copyright so those who use it can do whatever they want, and even sell the results. Is that your understanding?

Seems like krag is super MIA. Curious if anyone out there has a really solid understanding of how this library works? I've been trying to figure it out but I've never worked with wifi packets before so I'm starting from scratch.

The biggest feature I want to implement is starting the motors for manual takeoff. In the official app this can be accomplished by moving the left stick to 4 o clock & the right stick to 8. I have tried replicating this with tellolib by both setting values for multiple seconds via Tello.controllerState.setAxis(), as well as with a game controller. Unfortunately I haven't had any success yet. My hope is that taking off manually will avoid the giant offset in the position tracking that occurs when you use auto-takeoff.

Other libraries support this function, and the creator of aTelloPilot says this is the cmd that needs to be sent to the tello.

Code:
User Datagram Protocol, Src Port: 6525, Dst Port: 8889
TELLO_CMD
    SOP   : 0xcc
    SIZE  : 176
    CRC8  : 0x7f
    PACT  : 0x60
    DIR   :  -> TO DRONE
    CMD   : TELLO_CMD_STICK (80)
    SEQ   : 0
    DATASZ: 11
    DATA  : 6c 61 0b 5b 28 0d 06 13 21 45 02
        STICK - roll: 364, pitch: 364, thr: 364, yaw:1684, fastmode:0
    CRC16 : 0x7cec