Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.

Tello and Python

firesdstny

Reaction score
I am very new to this, and the Tello is the first drone I've had. I'm trying how to get them to fly using python - both a pre-programmed series of commands and a "live action" flight controlled by the keyboard of my laptop.

I am using djitellopy and I can connect to the drone and get it to takeoff and land. But nothing in between. move_forward, rotate_clockwise, etc. do not work.
This is what it says in the terminal:
end command: forward 200
Response: b'error Not joystick'

I've seen some cool videos of things with the cameras on youtube, but I figure I need to understand the basics before I get into anything more complex.

Please help!

P.S. Assume I know nothing about how it is actually connecting and you're probably pretty close to accurate...

Here's the pre-programmed script I was trying to run:

from djitellopy import Tello
tello = Tello()
tello.connect()
tello.takeoff()
tello.move_forward(100)
tello.move_forward(200)
tello.rotate_counterclockwise(90)
tello.move_forward(100)
tello.rotate_clockwise(90)
tello.land()

Very simple just to get the feel for it. All it did was takeoff, hover for a few seconds, then land.
Any help would be appreciated.
Also, I am using MS Visual Studio Code for working with Python and then running in the terminal. Again - assume I do not actually know the best way to do this stuff. MS VSC is the IDE my students will have access too also.

Hello