Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.

Tello EDU vs Tello

id_dev

Reaction score
Hi, I am new to Drones but a coder by profession. I was looking to purchase a couple drones to try coding a swarm of 2 drones.

I see there is the standard Tello and Tello EDU wanted to know aside from the included Mission Pads, are there any other differences?

Can the standard Tello be used for trying out swarms and use the SDK 2.0 ?

Thanks In advance

Hello and welcome to TelloPilots!

I just got my Tello EDU today but have the regular Tello for two weeks I think.

If photos of chips help you, check out The difference between regular Tello and Tello EDU (with Photos)

The regular Tello uses SDK 1.3 (or something like that). The PDF can be found here (PDF). The Tello EDU uses SDK 2.0 and it's PDF can be found here (PDF).

The differences based on the SDK PDFs are:

A - means the regular Tello does not support this command (but Tello EDU does) while a + means the regular Tello does support it (but the Tello EDU does not).
- stop (Hovers in the air. Note: works at any time.)
- go x y z speed mid (same as go x y z speed but uses mission pad)
- curve x1 y1 z1 x2 y2 z2 speed mid (same as curve x1 y1 z1 x2 y2 z2 speed but uses mission pad)
- jump x y z speed yaw mid1 mid2 (Fly to coordinates x, y and z of mission pad 1 and recognize coordinates 0, 0 and z of mission pad 2 and rotate to the yaw value)
- mon
- moff
- mdirection
- ap ssid pass
+ height?
+ temp?
+ attitude?
+ baro?
+ acceleration?
+ tof?
- sdk?
- sn?

If you want swarm mode you need the command ap ssid pass as this tells the Tello EDU to connect to an existing WiFi network rather than providing its own wifi network to which you have to connect.