Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.

Tello localization using downward and frontal cameras, landmarks map, and a particle filter

pgminin

Reaction score

Monte Carlo Localization for Tello

Tello downward camera is used for motion estimation:
position is integrated from optical flow velocity estimation (dead-reckoning).

Tello frontal camera is used for observation estimation:
landmarks (bottles) are detected using deep learning, and drone localization from known bottle positions is made using photogrammetry.

Estimations fusion:
motion and observation estimations are combined using a particle filter.

Video References:

Code Reference:

Last edited:
Reactions: AIDrone and Saemon
Hi,

I have been following your work with Tello & how you have been pushing the boundaries of drone with power of AI and ML. I can find so many uses cases of the Tello Localisation work you have done here.

I am a developer and have built a Drone AI Software for flying Tello from macOS and Windows. May be we can collaborate on some ideas. My software allows bunch of cool ML features. Tello Localisation implementation will be one level up.

Let me know your thoughts.

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-07-01 at 15.04.24.png
    Screenshot 2021-07-01 at 15.04.24.png
    136.8 KB · Views: 4
Reactions: Saemon and pgminin
Hi,

I have been following your work with Tello & how you have been pushing the boundaries of drone with power of AI and ML. I can find so many uses cases of the Tello Localisation work you have done here.

I am a developer and have built a Drone AI Software for flying Tello from macOS and Windows. May be we can collaborate on some ideas. My software allows bunch of cool ML features. Tello Localisation implementation will be one level up.

Let me know your thoughts.