Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.
Sign up

What is bitrate?

Khizer

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
When i swap to setting menu in tello app, there is one thing in the bottom named as bitrate which is auto by default. if i switch to 4mbps, will my video quality and frame skip improve?
 

Javi074

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
59
Reaction score
25
Location
North of Spain
The bitrate is related with the transfer capacity between yout tello and your phone. If you set it to very high value the image quality will be better but if the connection is not able to trnafer all data you will skip frames. If you set to low values... images will be worse but it will be more difficult to skip frames. I hope this clarify your question.
 

Khizer

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
well what's your suggestion about bitrate? Is it good enough at auto or i will swift it to 4mbps.
 

Javi074

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Messages
59
Reaction score
25
Location
North of Spain
If the wifi link is "bad"... you need low bitrate to avoid frame drops, if the link has good quality you can use hisger bitrates. The auto mode will select the best options for you depending on wifi signal strenght, so Auto.

...Javi
 

Khizer

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Thankz.. And i also want to ask one thing, actually i am new to tello, so if i want to fly forward, what is the max limit it can reach?
 

priitv8

New member
Joined
Sep 23, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
In addition to the bitrate question: no manual setting will stick, so it reverts back to Auto the next time you connect the app to Tello.
 

Cliffs tello

Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
3
Would like to see a higher than 4mb rate. I don't fly far, video quality is important for me. a option up to 10mb or ever 7 or 8 would be great
 

Storyline

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
84
Reaction score
31
I am not an expert but I think 10mb is more than is needed to transfer all the data that is in a stream of frames. Always using it would not do anything other than to increase the risk you will miss one. As a mad idea and to prove me right or wrong you could look at the average size of a frame and then multiply it by the frame rate and see how many mb's are needed for continuous transfer.

Agree with the others that using an extender has to be the first thing to do.

Edit: Actually, maybe stuff other than the image stream is also transmitted back and also I wonder how it sits with the control signals you are sending up to the Tello. Is it a duplex channel - any handshaking etc. - help, we need an expert ;)
 
Last edited:

habibmuhammadthariq

New member
Joined
Mar 10, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
The bitrate is related with the transfer capacity between yout tello and your phone. If you set it to very high value the image quality will be better but if the connection is not able to trnafer all data you will skip frames. If you set to low values... images will be worse but it will be more difficult to skip frames. I hope this clarify your question.
Hi, i wanna ask you something about this. can i reduce this bitrate for programming task like using python code instead of using tello app. So i can use it in computer vision like "follow me feature" or something like that. Or does anyone else know about it. I'd appreciated your response. thanks
 

Hacky

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 19, 2021
Messages
228
Reaction score
101
Location
Germany
I saw no requirement for reducing the bitrate but it may help to reduce latency a little bit. When you consume the stream using OpenCV and do some "expensive" operations on the frames, it may be necessary to decouple the reading from the processing e.g. using threading.

You find examples in my signature.
 

volate!lo

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 13, 2018
Messages
2,983
Reaction score
2,664
Location
Germany
Iirc the newer edu SDK has some functions to manipulate this. But I don't use it so don't know for sure.
But I don't think it will help you much. Bitrate does not affect image resolution .

You certainly should decouple CV processing from the stream handling as suggested and throttle the frame rate to what your code can handle. Grab the next frame only when the previous one finished CV processing.
 

habibmuhammadthariq

New member
Joined
Mar 10, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I saw no requirement for reducing the bitrate but it may help to reduce latency a little bit. When you consume the stream using OpenCV and do some "expensive" operations on the frames, it may be necessary to decouple the reading from the processing e.g. using threading.

You find examples in my signature.
Thanks for the suggestions. I've did it, but still there were a latency. It really bothering me. But, after trying for many hours, finally i got the solution that is use threading to save the image then i just read one from 5 frame
 

New Threads

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
5,422
Messages
38,729
Members
15,302
Latest member
kenb7976