Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.

I am new to the Tello Programming, just created a face detection & tracking program

YOLO

Reaction score
Hello all,

I have owned Tello for years... but recently fell in love with the SDK and Python, and started to create some projects. Recently, I have just made the Tello do face detection and tracking. Would like to share it with all of you, please check it out from

my website - Drone Programming – Face Detection and Tracking | Molex's Workshop or
Facebook page - Log into Facebook.

Hope I can share what I learned and improve my skills with your valuable input.

Thanks,
YOLO

Reactions: GFields
Thanks for sharing.
Next step would be, implementing a PID control loop for smoother operation ;-)

Thank you for very much for your feedback... but I got failed when I was studying feedback control in my college.. :p

Just finished the gesture control and trying swarm... then, I got my EDU expansion kits to TT.. Once, I learned and touched all these basic, I will try to make thing better. Can't avoid from PID.. lol

Hi Hacky,

I spent a whole day reading and studying the PID. But, I just wonder why and how I implement PID. Is that good enough if we just vary the drone speed based on the distance away from the center? really need PID? It looks to me like it's a kind of feedback control.

Thanks,
YOLO

At least, that's how I implemented the applications you find in my signature. Only this way you get smooth continous motions.

Thanks for your information... but I still have no clue how to properly implement PID into my program. But, I changed the speed from constant value to variable to the distance to the center, and it looks much better, can target the exact center instead of a +/- 50 box. I really want to see how this compares with PID.

From

if x > 530:
rV = +30
elif x < 430:
rV = -30
else:
rV = 0

if y > 410:
vV = -20
elif y < 310:
vV = 20
else:
vV = 0
tello.send_rc_control(hV, dV, vV, rV)

To