Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.

My Tello last flight - Lesson learned the hard way - don't push your luck and limit

zaldy

Reaction score
Website
thebaggus.com
So, i am new to drone world.. and a month ago i bought my first drone, Tello.. and i read all this forum post, and register, learn what Tello can and can't do.. while practicing everyday..

I am content creator (Youtube) and the reason i want drone is to add some aerial video footage to my vlog..

My Tello last only a month, lost in the bottom of the lake... here i edited some footage.. have a look

Lesson learned hard way:

- Tello main limitation is VPS (Vision Positioning System) - dont fly over water for too long! it is not a GPS drone
- When VPS fail, Tello will drift.. sometimes control works, but mostly controls doesn't works... it simply drifting and searching ground reference (and small gust of wind will blow your Tello away..)
- Dont push your luck and limit.. yes, you maybe lucky 1-2 times, but if you push your luck and machine to it's limit, it will fail
- For new Tello pilots: get TelloFPV app - is a must! it got plenty features.. worth every cent!

Again, Tello is not a GPS drone, and you will not take some "cinematic" shot with it (within all it's hardware limitation), but Tello is a sturdy, simple, fun little drone... treat it that way, it will give you fun times...

Now i got Mavic Mini SE,, I can expand my shot beyond what Tello can offers (ofcourse) but i still missed my Tello... someday if i have extra money, i surely will buy Tello again..

That video shot with Mini SE.. finally i got some machine that fits my need.

Thanks for read and watching.. i hope all new Tello pilots will learn some lesson over this thread... sorry for my english.. it is not my primary language

Last edited:
Reactions: BlowMyTello