Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.

Tello Python Programming (How to do Obstacle avoidance combination?)

Muppet Party

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to Tello programming and my Python knowledge is not very strong.

I have recently programmed my Tello using Python (Pycharm) for object detection and avoidance using Yolov3, as well as programmed RC controls to move the drone (like a planned flight route). Currently, I am able to combine these 2 programs into 1, which means when I run the codes my drone is able to detect & avoid obstacles and follow the planned flight route I set. However, it can only do one thing at a time. For example, if it is following the RC controls, it will not detect the object and vice versa.

But I want both of them to be integrated, like when it is following the planned route, it will avoid any obstacles in its way, and continue flying on its flight route.

Is this possible to program using Python? Thank you!

Last edited:
Hello
You are probably further than we are in this kind of programming. We have done some programming in Python using a Raspberry Pi. it seems that the drone and UDP communication is designed to only use a single stream of code, that needs a wait time before the next command will function. We have a fe of the Robomaster TT extension kits and Robomaster Tello Talents. it may work with the Arduino programming, as this system now use 5.9 bands also, and not just the 2.4Hz ( n WiFi protocol ) We need to do more testing. This might be a good test, as we have not started using the Arduino yet. You could send us the code to play with and test if you wish. Sounds like a good project. Good luck.

Reactions: hari lachu
Hey, that's wonderfull. I too wanna do object detection and avoidance for really a long time. Can you kindly guide me?