Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.

Connection lost -help-

hackstergirl

Reaction score
Hello, I was flying today inside my house and I was not far from the drone probably about 6-7 ft away when I lost connection (battery was still full). The drone started drifting and I could not control it from my phone. I tried to grab it with my hand but it crashed against my fish tank and broke a prop.
Is there anything I can do to prevent this or quickly re-acquire the signal/control?
I am a new pilot just got the drone a couple of days ago.
Thanks!

how long were you connected to tello wifi before this happened? possibly your phone changes wifi network automatically if it detects one with internet access against the tello wifi without?

Reactions: umanbean
possibly your phone changes wifi network automatically if it detects one with internet access against the tello wifi without?
Exactly... phones will 'prefer', and switch to, a previously remembered wifi connection which does have internet - over an AP which does not.

Also, the signal from a home Wi-Fi router can interfere with the connection between your phone and Tello.

Hopefully your problem is one of those two situations and you can get it fixed. Good luck

Welcome. Click on "forget" all your previous wifi connections and then connect to the Tello. Also turn of B.T. and go into airplane mode. (You will have to connect with the Tello after turning on airplane mode)

Also if your carpet or floor covering is uniform then the Tello can drift. The light needs to be really bright when flying indoors, a dark portion of the room can cause the drone to drift.

Thank you for the suggestions! When I connected to the Tello I did not forget all the other connections I think that maybe the issue. I still have my old phone I wonder if I can make it a dedicated phone just to fly the Tello and just program the Tello WIFI into it