Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.
Sign up

First outdoor take off

Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
8
Likes
7
Location
Sicilia, Italia
#5
Ansia and Guorium thanks for the advice.
i thought the propeller guards were to be removed when you fly near trees or similar... I choosed an open area for the first flight also because near the sea yesterday was a little windy.
I also noticed that in windy conditions Tello refuses to do "intelligent flight modes".
 
Likes: Guorium

Ansia

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
920
Likes
326
Age
34
Location
Puerto Rico
#6
Ansia and Guorium thanks for the advice.
i thought the propeller guards were to be removed when you fly near trees or similar... I choosed an open area for the first flight also because near the sea yesterday was a little windy.
I also noticed that in windy conditions Tello refuses to do "intelligent flight modes".
Prop guards work as sails on a boat when flying outsite. If you take them off, the Tello will fly more stable and you will get better video.
 

Guorium

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2019
Messages
195
Likes
60
#8
Thanks Ansia, first step to get a better video for me is also remember ... to rec a video ;-)
Beside the necessity of a wifi repeater for better vid quality, u need to move quite slowly for good vid quality and cinematic effect, i mean real slow. And yep automated flight mode is diasabled when windy, tello even cuts my already recording vid when it suddenly gets windy (and causes vps to fail). Being not ended by me pressing stop button the vid does not get saved. Best to end the recording by yourself, seems to be an iOS problem.
 
Likes: ilpitz
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
8
Likes
7
Location
Sicilia, Italia
#9
Beside the necessity of a wifi repeater for better vid quality, u need to move quite slowly for good vid quality and cinematic effect, i mean real slow. And yep automated flight mode is diasabled when windy, tello even cuts my already recording vid when it suddenly gets windy (and causes vps to fail). Being not ended by me pressing stop button the vid does not get saved. Best to end the recording by yourself, seems to be an iOS problem.
Thanks Guorium for the tips, every single tip really appreciated from me.
For the wifi repeater I’m providing: some days ago I’ve ordered the “classic for the tello” xiaomi wifi extender 2 and it will be with me the next Friday.
The thing that tello cuts your already recording videos when vps fails is very interesting, because I was sure to have started my recording (I even remember the min e sec of the recording going on on the screen) but then when, at the end of the flight, I searched for video on the phone and I didn’t find anything I “accused” myself for being too much excited for my first outdoor flight (it was a little windy, the sea was near, the sun in the eyes… someone stole my car! there was an earthquake! a terrible flood! Locusts!)
The only thing is that I use android so has it ever occurred to someone with android?

Thanks again
 
Likes: Guorium

Guorium

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2019
Messages
195
Likes
60
#10
Thanks Guorium for the tips, every single tip really appreciated from me.
For the wifi repeater I’m providing: some days ago I’ve ordered the “classic for the tello” xiaomi wifi extender 2 and it will be with me the next Friday.
The thing that tello cuts your already recording videos when vps fails is very interesting, because I was sure to have started my recording (I even remember the min e sec of the recording going on on the screen) but then when, at the end of the flight, I searched for video on the phone and I didn’t find anything I “accused” myself for being too much excited for my first outdoor flight (it was a little windy, the sea was near, the sun in the eyes… someone stole my car! there was an earthquake! a terrible flood! Locusts!)
The only thing is that I use android so has it ever occurred to someone with android?

Thanks again
Well i guess it plagues android too then... if u ask ryze support they might as u to disable location service for the tello app. Give that ago. Didn’t work for me but might help you. Maybe reinstall then disable location.
 
Likes: ilpitz

Ansia

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
920
Likes
326
Age
34
Location
Puerto Rico
#11
Well i guess it plagues android too then... if u ask ryze support they might as u to disable location service for the tello app. Give that ago. Didn’t work for me but might help you. Maybe reinstall then disable location.
You understood what he was trying to say? He lost me half way.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
2,480
Messages
19,148
Members
5,854
Latest member
Kenjamin