Hello Tello Pilot!
Join our DJI Tello community & remove this banner.
Sign up

SDK 3.0 for Tello EDU

Mike Shock

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 13, 2019
Messages
53
Reaction score
15
Location
Russia
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: robagar

Mike Shock

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 13, 2019
Messages
53
Reaction score
15
Location
Russia
I like the "motoron" / "motoroff" commads - they're good for cooling the drone when it's on the ground while I'm testing a program.
:cool:
 
Last edited:

Jeremyl

New member
Joined
May 31, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
2
I like the "motoron" / "motoroff" commads - they're good for cooling the drone when it's on the ground while I'm testing a program.
:cool:
Newbie here, I just started using djitellopy to learn how to program this drone. Outside of the new motor commands am I missing out of any new commands by not using the official sdk?
 

Mike Shock

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 13, 2019
Messages
53
Reaction score
15
Location
Russia
Newbie here, I just started using djitellopy to learn how to program this drone. Outside of the new motor commands am I missing out of any new commands by not using the official sdk?
I think, only commands of the SDK 2.0 are implemented as methods in the DJITelloPy package. But it has a method 'send_command_with_return(str)'. With its help, you can send to your drone any command of the SDK 3.0.
For example: tello.send_command_with_return("motoron") or tello.send_command_with_return("reboot").
But you should have the v02.05.01.17 firmware version in your Tello EDU/Talent to execute SDK 3.0 commands.
 

Jeremyl

New member
Joined
May 31, 2021
Messages
3
Reaction score
2
I think, only commands of the SDK 2.0 are implemented as methods in the DJITelloPy package. But it has a method 'send_command_with_return(str)'. With its help, you can send to your drone any command of the SDK 3.0.
For example: tello.send_command_with_return("motoron") or tello.send_command_with_return("reboot").
But you should have the v02.05.01.17 firmware version in your Tello EDU/Talent to execute SDK 3.0 commands.
Thank you! I did not know of that command.
 

Mike Shock

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 13, 2019
Messages
53
Reaction score
15
Location
Russia
New SDK 3.0 commands for controlling the drone:
COMMAND RESULT # DESCRIPTION
hardware? "TELLO" | "RMTT" # Is external controller connected?
motoroff "ok" | "error" # Turns off the motors.
motoron "ok" | "error" # Turns on the motors.
port INFO_PORT VIDEO_PORT "ok" | "error" # Sets the ports for info & video.
reboot No response (success)/error # Reboots the drone.
setbitrate 0|1|2|3|4|5 "ok" | "error" # auto|1Mbps|2MBps|3Mbps|4Mbps|5Mbps
setfps high|middle|low "ok" | "error" # Sets framerate to 30fps|15fps|5fps
setresolution high|low "ok" | "error" # Sets resolution to 720P|480P
ssid? In STA mode: factory default SSID; in AP mode: user-defined SSID & password
throwfly
"ok" | "error" # Throw the drone horizontally within 5s of sending the command.

Plus a bunch of commands for controlling an external RMTT controller (based on ESP32):
ap? AP name & password | "unknown command: ap?" # if RMTT | if TELLO
multiwifi SSID PASSWORD "ok" | "error" # Set the SSID & password of the external controller.
wifisetchannel RMTT_CHANNEL "ok" | "error" # Set the Wi-Fi channel of the open-source controller
wifiversion? "wifivx.x.x.x" | "unknown command: wifiversion?" # if RMTT | if TELLO
. . .
(details in SDK 3.0 User Guide)
 
Last edited:

M4GNV5

New member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Hey,

im the current maintainer of djitellopy.
This sounds very interesting. One major issue with the old EDU firmware had was not being able to stream video while in wifi station mode. I.e. when flying a swarm of drones having them all connected to one wifi AP it was not possible to stream video. Maybe this is now possible with the new `port info vedio` command? I will have to do further investigations.

Apart from that most of the new stuff seems to be robomaster tello talent related.
 

tempß1

New member
Joined
Nov 11, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Has anonye figured out how to use the command 'wifisetchannel xxx' for 5 Ghz Wifi, or whether it is possible to set the Tellomaster to 5ghz with it?
It is working fine for 2.4 Ghz but since there are only 14 channels at 2.4 ghz I would assume this command should be compatible with setting 5 ghz wifi as well. (Otherwise a placeholder for 3 digits would not make any sense for me)

Oh, and has anonye tried sending a video stream while being in Access Point Mode (by using the command 'port info vedio')? It would be amazing if the drone is finally capable of transmitting video through a Router.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
5,064
Messages
36,657
Members
13,617
Latest member
Wazidtello